Project: "The Museum of the 20th Century"
Company:REX Architecture
Designer(s): REX Architecture, United States
Category: , Professional
User's Profile : User's Profile

Entry Description: Next to the world's most exquisite frame for art—Mies van der Rohe's Neue Nationalgalerie—we propose its counterpoint: a functional (not aesthetic) objet trouvé for the art of framing collections. The Museum of the 20th Century is a ‘Wunderkammer’ whose gradational grid of galleries offers curatorial flexibility and clarity with a diversity in room character, size, and proportion.The extreme individualization of each gallery’s interior contrasts with the more abstract and seeming sameness of their exteriors and hallways, creating an intensively immersive and surprising experience for visitors. Emphasizing the unique relationship with its illustrious neighbor, The Museum is square too, but pushed to its most northern boundary, away from the Neue Nationalgalerie, to establish its autonomy. The Museum of the 20th Century’s non- conformist gallery matrix, transforming and sustainable façade, and landscapes accessible to all, further set The Museum as its own entity in the Kulturforum.

About the Designer/Company
REX is an internationally-acclaimed architecture and design firm based in New York City, whose name signifies a re-appraisal (RE) of architecture (X). Operating across many scales, REX consistently challenges and advances building typologies, and promotes the agency of architecture. REX’s think-tank of 30 designers, hailing from diverse cultural and educational backgrounds, is led by Joshua Prince-Ramus, who was founding partner of OMA New York--the American affiliate of the Office for Metropolitan Architecture/Rem Koolhaas--until he rebranded that firm as REX in 2006. Seminal projects include the Dee & Charles Wyly Theatre in Dallas, Texas; the Vakko Fashion Center and Power Media Center in Istanbul, Turkey; and the Seattle Central Library--all opened to critical acclaim, including American Institute of Architects (AIA) National Honor Awards in 2005 and 2011.