Submit your design to 2021 IDA DESIGN AWARDS


Share on Social Media

UTS Central

Companyfjmt studio
Lead DesignersRichard Francis-Jones
Design TeamRichard Francis-Jones, Jeff Morehen, James Perry, Elizabeth Carpenter, Daniel Karamaneas, Aliaksei Sakalouski, Gema Edo, Borja Pedrosa, John Perry, Cassandra Halpin-Smyth, Mariska, Margaret Metchev, Alessandro Rossi, Pei-Lin Cheah, Pray Mathur, Marika Haromo, Anna Szymanska, Michael Woodward, Cassandra Cutler, Sean Pettet, Claudia Andrade, Ileana Lanfranco , Noel Yaxley, Miyo Stanton - Landscape Team: Phoebe Pape, Richard Tripolone, Maria Martinez, Francesca Cazzetta.
Project LocationSydney, NSW, Australia
ClientUniversity of Technology Sydney
CreditsAndy Roberts, Brett Boardman, Tyrone Branigan
Prize(s)Silver in Architecture Categories / Institutional
Project LinkView
Entry Description

University of Technology Sydney is a unique campus particularly because of its location on the fringe of the CBD in Sydney. This brings significant limitations on space and opportunity for the UTS campus to spread and grow horizontally with the only opportunity to increase the campus vertically. Understanding the needs of the University with the physical constrains of both the site and immediate context we developed a concept for UTS Central which was to establish a new ‘vertical campus’ that connected the city with the campus.


fjmt is a multi-award-winning Australian architectural practice dedicated to design excellence and the enhancement of the public domain.

Place and community are inseparable. Developed between these terms, each of our projects is a transformation and interpretation of the site to make visible the aspirations of the client and wider community for which we build. We seek to create form and public space that accommodates and reflects human appearance, values and ideas, and importantly extends to the public realm.

Other Awards and Prizes

fjmt has won numerous architectural and design awards including the World Architecture Festival ‘World Building of the Year’, the AIA, the Lloyd Rees Award for Urban Design, the NZIA Architecture Medal, and the RIBA International Award.